Living Gluten-Free: Lots You Can Eat!

Living Gluten-Free: Lots You Can Eat!

 Living Gluten-Free

When you’re first diagnosed with Celiac Disease it seems the list of what you cannot eat is longer than what you can. Don’t fret – there are many options still available! Yes, wheat is a very popular starch, but this just means it’s time to explore and rediscover old favourites. 

There are many options for what you can eat.



Corn can be made into many forms other than on the cob and corn niblets, for example, corn chips, polenta (cornmeal), pasta, cornbread, cereal, tortillas, and many variations of desserts. 


Rice will become your new best friend as it is often served with many types of cuisine around the world. It is such a simple, gluten-free grain that can transform into a variety of noodle and pasta dishes. In addition to being the main entree, rice can be served in a dessert and even breakfast (think congee porridge). 


For many years, the humble potato has been a staple at the dinner table in different forms. Potatoes can be served mashed, boiled, baked/roasted, fried, and in salads. Favourite dishes like Sheppard’s pie, hash browns, and creamy chowder are all possible on a gluten-free diet. 


What exactly is quinoa? According to the dictionary, quinoa is “a grain high in nutrients traditionally grown as a staple food high in the Andes.” It looks like tiny sprouts and comes in two colours: red and white. Both are healthy and satisfying. Quinoa is very versatile and can be made as a stand-alone salad, or in stuffing, soups, stews, stir-fries, and curries. It’s an even healthier alternative to rice and can be used as an equal substitute.


Though the name inspires curiosity, buckwheat is in fact gluten-free. It is a plant that looks like grain seeds. Packed with protein, buckwheat is a healthier alternative to traditional flour and is high in antioxidants. It can be milled into flour and used to make desserts or savoury bread recipes. 

Living gluten-free means there is no need to feel as if you’re missing out. The gluten-free world is as wide as your imagination. Remember to read every label, look for the "GF" icon on products, and check to see if the item has come into contact with glutinous ingredients. Simply be aware, ask questions and when in doubt, don’t risk it. 


Be sure to drop by our gluten-free section and start your gluten-free pantry today.


Related Products